Ken Krome

Ken has been involved with horses his whole life.  As a junior rider, he made the long drive from his mother’s [Carolyn Krome] farm in Maryland to train with George Morris.  While studying at the University of Wyoming, where he went on a rodeo scholarship, Ken began judging in order to support himself.  He operates K2 Show Stables out of Persimmon Tree Farm.

As a Junior rider, Ken was lucky to ride and show with George Morris, Patty Heuchroth, Joe Fargis, Conrad Homfeld and Karen Healy.  Since then he has won the 5 year Old International Jumper Futurity, placed in Grand Prixs  and ridden many horses to zone and National year-end awards.

Ken is an FEI “III” rated course designer and a USEF “R” rated judge.  He has course designed across the country including such notable places as WEF, WIHS, Devon, Kentucky, Vermont, Ocala, Legacy Cup, and Upperville. In 2010, Ken was the recipient of the WCHR Hunter Course Designer’s Trophy, awarded by the World Championship Hunter Rider Program to a person who exemplifies dedication and lifetime commitment to hunter course designing.

Carolyn Krome

Carolyn has spent most of her life around horses as a rider, trainer, care-giver, and instructor.  In 1968, she started Persimmon Tree Farm on her family’s farm in Owings Mills.  In 1986, the business was relocated to its current location.

For many years, Carolyn has managed her successful and highly rated hunter/jumper show stable, and has trained numerous show horses and instructed and coached many junior and amateur riders on the ”A” show circuit.  She has attended numerous clinics and seminars dealing with the care and performance of horses, and has sought out and received the most knowledgeable advise, counsel, and instruction from experts such as George Morris, Jessica Ranenhousen, and Jack LeGoff.  Acting as a purchasing or sales agent for her clients, Carolyn regularly deals with some of the best known and highly regarded trainers, riders, and breeders in the US and Canada.

Carolyn has presented a number of clinics involving clinicians such as George Morris, Frank Madden, Kip Rosenthal, and Archie Cox.  Carolyn has served as a USEF Zone 3 Representative as well as on the board of the Maryland Horse Show Association.  In 2006, Carolyn was the recipient of the MHSA John A. Wagner Jr. Memorial Perpetual Trophy for her many contributions to the Maryland horse show community.